Review: Claymore, Vol. 6

Claymore: The Endless Gravestones, Vol. 6 (Claymore, #6)Claymore: The Endless Gravestones, Vol. 6
by Norihiro Yagi

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Claymore, Vol. 6 / 9781421510484

I've actually watched the complete Claymore anime first before getting into the manga; I'm really liking the manga source material, as it rather closely follows the anime but has a few extra details and world-building information along the way. I definitely love the clean, crisp black-and-white artwork, though I do still have to remember the right-to-left / back-to-front reading.

Volume 6 provides the following scenes:

Scene 28: The Slashers, Part 4
Scene 29: The Slashers, Part 5
Scene 30: The Slashers, Part 6
Scene 31: The Endless Gravestones, Part 1
Scene 32: The Endless Gravestones, Part 2
Scene 33: The Endless Gravestones, Part 3

For those following along with the anime series, this volume corresponds to:

Episode 10: Those Who Rend Asunder, Part 2 (Scenes 28 and 29, and carried over from Volume 5.)
Episode 11: Those Who Rend Asunder, Part 3 (Scenes 29 and 30.)
Episode 12: The Endless Gravestones, Part 1 (Scenes 31, 32, and 33, and carried over into Volume 7.)

This volume finishes the Slashers arc with Clare fighting alongside Miria, Helen, and Deneve against the Awakened Being and revealing that the four of them share traits that could be of interest to the Organization. A little more of Miria's 'trouble-making investigation' is hinted at, but only tantalizing so; hopefully this will be dealt with more in a later arc. The volume also marks the beginning of the Ophelia arc, which is one of the most disturbing arcs in the anime, in my opinion, but disturbingly good if that makes sense.

~ Ana Mardoll

View all my reviews


Post a Comment