Author Interview: Bill Hubiak on "Black Ice"

Content Note: Mental Illness, Schizophrenia

Ana: Today we have Bill Hubiak introducing his novel, Black Ice. I haven't read this book myself, but Bill was kind enough to agree to guest blog about his book to any readers who might be interested in the subject. Bill how would you describe your novel to your prospective readers? In broad terms, what is your novel about?

Bill: Black Ice is a quick-paced psychological/science-based thriller set in my hometown of Cranford, New Jersey. Physicist Marcie Roselli’s world is reeling out of control after the death of her daughter in a car accident on an icy Colorado roadway. The specter of her dead child keeps Marcie teetering on the edge of reality as she battles to reclaim her own life. When she returns to the New Jersey town in which she was raised, she discovers that her brilliant but psychologically vulnerable niece suffers from the same delusions.

Could these hallucinations be real or are they another manifestation of a disease that ravaged her mother, as well? Is it possible that the voices that schizophrenics hear emanate from another dimension? If so, to what lengths would some go to control the gateways to the multi-universe? What does a secret government program known as the Black Ice Project have to do with her teenage niece?

Aided by a battle-weary Iraq veteran and his peculiar friend, who writes conspiracy books, Dr. Roselli navigates a path strewn with danger to rescue her niece from powerful forces that have targeted the girl or risk losing everything once again to black ice.

Ana: What themes does your novel explore and what do you hope the reader will take away from the experience? Is there a particular feeling or experience that you hope to evoke in the reader? Essentially, do you hope your novel will mean to a reader?

Bill: In the broadest sense, this novel deals with schizophrenia, multiple universes, and secret military experiments. On a more intimate level, Black Ice explores issues of personal growth, redemption, friendship and love. I am especially satisfied with the engaging characters I’ve created for this novel. So much so that one of the secondary characters is the protagonist in my current project. I think readers who enjoy an exciting read that blends thrilling action with humor and a touch of science will like Black Ice.

Ana: What prompted you to write this novel and did you have a specific inspiration in mind? Were you influenced by a certain author or work that inspired you to add your voice to this genre? Besides the boatloads of money and rockstar fame, what motivated you to write this book?

Bill: I write to entertain myself and hope others like it as well. After decades on the road, living out of hotel rooms, and reading too many novels that were predictable and disappointing, I opted to craft stories with twists and turns that delight and surprise me. Storytelling has always been an integral part of my success as an organizational consultant/trainer and writing has provided a new media for this talent. I love the early works of Dean Koontz and Stephen King and all three of the novels that I’ve written over the last couple of years are in that genre. Rockstar fame doesn’t interest me much but earning a little money so my wife can retire too would be nice

Ana: If you could compare your novel to any other existing works, which ones would it be and why? If the one thing you could say to a prospective reader was, "If you like X, you'll love my book!", which work would be invoked so that a reader could judge whether or not your novel is their cup of tea?

Bill: I think readers who enjoy Koontz or King will like Black Ice. One Amazon reviewer noted that one of my novels was Dean Koontz meets David Baldacci. I found that very complimentary.

Ana: Is this your first or only published work, or have you published other novels? If you have published other novels, how do they compare to this one? Do you have any more novels planned, either as a follow-up to this one, or as a completely different novel or genre?

Bill: This is my third novel. It is not part of a planned series. I am doing something interesting with each book, however. Characters from previous books make very brief cameo appearances in each of my other stories. I have in mind that eventually, I might tie these story lines together. I have just begun working on a fourth book and as already stated my protagonist is a secondary character from Black Ice. I simply fell in love with this bizarre creation (Zeus Cubberly) and wanted to spend more time with him.

Ana: Where can readers obtain a copy of your novel for them to enjoy? How can they contact you with any thoughts or questions? And do you have a means by which they can "sign up" to be notified when your next novel comes available?

Bill: All three of my novels are on Amazon. The link to Black Ice where readers can read a sample is here.  People can also find me at my website or on Facebook. I do have a blog that can be accessed through my website but must admit that maintaining it is too much like work and interferes with writing my novels. People can contact me through my website as well.

Ana: Thank you, Bill. Is there anything else you wish to add for our readers?

Bill: Thank you very much for the opportunity to connect with your readers. I look forward with enthusiasm to any comments/critiques/reviews people may be willing to share with me.


Post a Comment