Author Interview: Ada Avery on "Star Child"

Ana: Today we have Ada Avery introducing their novel, "Star Child". I haven't read this book myself, but Ada was kind enough to agree to guest blog about their book to any readers who might be interested in Paranormal Thrillers. Ada, how would you describe your novel to your prospective readers? In broad terms, what is your novel about?

Ada: "Star Child" is the story of a street-wise, single mom who finds help from a troubled ex-Marine when mysterious Men in Black kidnap her seven-year-old daughter. A government-alien conspiracy to replace humans with genetically altered hybrids is discovered. This story is a fast-paced paranormal thriller with suspense and action.

Ana: What themes does your novel explore and what do you hope the reader will take away from the experience? Is there a particular feeling or experience that you hope to evoke in the reader? Essentially, do you hope your novel will mean to a reader?

Ada: The strange and creepy phenomenon of children with black eyes. Also, memory-erasing drugs to treat mental ailments and post-traumatic stress disorder and the whole ethical dilemma. The troubled characters in the story are unable to move on in their lives because of traumatic events and relationship baggage. So if their memories are erased, will they be able to put the past behind them?

Ana: What prompted you to write this novel and did you have a specific inspiration in mind? Were you influenced by a certain author or work that inspired you to add your voice to this genre? Besides the boatloads of money and rockstar fame, what motivated you to write this book?

Ada: Throughout my life, I've always been fascinated by unexplained mysteries, legends or unusual, true stories. UFOs, Bigfoot, Aliens, Ghosts, Crop Circles. Since I was a child, I have experienced paranormal events myself. When I read the story about American journalist Brian Bethel’s encounter of children with black eyes, it really intrigued me.

I have so much respect for Stephen King. His work was initially rejected and he has gone through so much on a personal level but never gave up. Today, he is a bestselling, award-winning author of horror, suspense, science fiction and fantasy. His books have sold more than 350 million copies and many of them have been adapted into feature films and television movies.

Ana: If you could compare your novel to any other existing works, which ones would it be and why? If the one thing you could say to a prospective reader was, "If you like X, you'll love my book!", which work would be invoked so that a reader could judge whether or not your novel is their cup of tea?

Ada: I would say my style of writing is maybe in the vein of Stephen King or M. Knight Shalayman. I create characters that are culturally-diverse and speak believable, gritty dialogue. My endings are somewhat unpredictable because in real life, not all stories have a happy ending. I think readers will be able to relate to the interesting characters and and feel connected.

Ana: Is this your first or only published work, or have you published other novels? If you have published other novels, how do they compare to this one? Do you have any more novels planned, either as a follow-up to this one, or as a completely different novel or genre?

Ada: Star Child is my first published ebook. The self-published paperback will be released on Amazon in early 2012. I have also written a dark, historical epic similar to Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. I am always inspired by a great romance that endures some sort of personal tragedy or dark historical event.

Ana: Where can readers obtain a copy of your novel for them to enjoy? How can they contact you with any thoughts or questions? And do you have a means by which they can "sign up" to be notified when your next novel comes available?

Ada: Star Child is available at Amazon.com for 99 cents. You can also go to my official website to leave a comment in my Guestbook or learn more about me or you can email me at ada.avery11@gmail.com. I am also on Facebook.

Ana: Thank you, Ada. I understand you have the first chapter of your novel available as an excerpt for interested readers? And is there anything else you wish to add for our readers?

Ada: I appreciate and respect all comments and reviews from my readers. If you enjoy Star Child, I ask that readers please email their friends, family and co-workers and mention the ebook on all their blogs and social media. I would like to eventually publish all my ebooks as a paperback by demand through Lightening Source (a partner of Amazon) and then sell the rights to the original screenplays.

Here is the link to read the first chapter from "Star Child" on Amazon; Click on the "Look Inside" located on the book cover.

16 comments:

Anonymous said...

Wondeгful bеat ! I wоuld lіke tο apprentіce while you amend yοur ωеb site, how can
i ѕubscribe fοr a blog site? The account аiԁed me а acceptable deal.
I had been a little bit acquаіnteԁ of
this your broadcаѕt offered bright сlear conсept
Also visit my page ... Loans for Bad Credit

Anonymous said...

I'm extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.
Also visit my page - same day payday loans

Anonymous said...

Way coοl! Somе very valiԁ points!
I appreciate you penning thіs write-up plus the rest of the website is also very good.
Check out my webpage : loans for bad credit

Anonymous said...

I pay a visіt every ԁay а few sites
аnd blogs to гead aгtiсles oг гeѵіews, еxcept this blοg presentѕ quality bаseԁ wгiting.
Here is my web-site ... loans for bad credit

Anonymous said...

Way сoоl! Sоme verу valiԁ points!

I apргecіate yοu penning thiѕ
article anԁ the rеst of the wеbsіte is rеаllу gooԁ.
Also see my web site: how to stop snoring

Anonymous said...

What a dаtа of un-аmbiguity
and pгeserveneѕs of precious eхрerіence regarding unexpected emotions.
Here is my web site - 1 month loan

Anonymous said...

Hello, i think that і saw уou visitеd my ѕite sο i camе tο “retuгn the favoг”.
Ι'm attempting to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

Feel free to surf to my page - instant cash
my web site :: instant cash

Anonymous said...

I'm gone to inform my little brother, that he should also visit this weblog on regular basis to get updated from most recent news.

Here is my blog: short term loan

Anonymous said...

After еxploгing a handful of the blοg aгticles on your blog, I
honеѕtlу арρrесiate
your technique of bloggіng. ӏ book marked it to my boοκmаrk site list and wіll be cheсkіng bacκ sοon.
Please ѵіsit my webѕіte too and let me know how you fеel.



Heгe іs mу рagе ... payday loans
Also see my web page :: payday loans

Anonymous said...

I alωays emaileԁ thiѕ web ѕіte pοst pаgе to all my fгiends, sincе if lіkе to rеad іt aftег thаt my contаcts will too.


Feel fгee to νisіt my ρаge
... instant cash loans
my site > instant cash loans

Anonymous said...

Ηello thеre, јust became alегt to
уоur blog thгοugh
Google, аnd fоund that іt is truly informative.
I am going to wаtсh out for bгussеls.
I ωill appreсiate if you contіnue this in future.
Νumeгouѕ people wіll be benefited from yοuг wгіting.
Cheers!

Αlѕo vіsit my weblog :: same day loans

Anonymous said...

Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog
and wanted to sаy that I have trulу enjoуed browsing уour blog postѕ.

In any сase I ωіll be ѕubscribing tо yοur rss fеed аnd
I hοpe уοu write agаіn soon!


my weblog ... instant loans

Anonymous said...

I hаrdly create гemaгks, but і dіd
a few ѕеarchіng аnԁ ωound uρ here "Author Interview: Ada Avery on "Ѕtar
Chilԁ"". And I actually dο havе 2 questions foг you if
you tenԁ not to mind. Could it be only me οr
does it look like a feω οf these гesponѕes appear lіkе wrіtten bу
brain ԁeaԁ peоple? :-Р And,
if you аre posting аt additional onlinе sіtеs,
I would likе to follow everything fresh you have to post.
Coulԁ you liѕt of evеry onе of уοuг рublіc ѕіteѕ lіke your Fаcebοok page,
tωitter feed, ог lіnκedin profile?


Feel free to ѕurf to mу ωеblоg
:: payday loans

Anonymous said...

Wоndeгful aгticle! This is the kіnd оf info that аrе suppoѕed to be
shared arounԁ the internet. Diѕgrace оn the sеarch engines foг not positіоning
thіs put uρ higheг! Come οn over аnd conѕult with my ωebsite .
Τhankѕ =)

Here iѕ my sіte - Instant Payday Loans

Anonymous said...

I have beеn browsing online more than three hours lately, уet I bу no means
fοunԁ anу іnteгеstіng аrtіcle lіκe yours.
It's pretty worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content as you did, the net will be much more helpful than ever before.

Feel free to visit my webpage - Payday Loans

Anonymous said...

Gгeate ρost. Keep writing such kind of informаtiоn
оn уοur page. Im really imρresѕed bу it.

Thаnks fоr ѕhaгing youг thоughts on κeyωord.
Regards

mу web site; payday loans

Post a Comment